how weird is the word ‘please’.

I just asked my boss for something, and he wrote back saying, ‘a please would be nice’.

so I thought I would be all quirky and send him a ‘please’ image or something. and I have spent so much time typing in the word ‘please’. that it doesn’t even look like it should exist. I even has to google ‘please’ to make sure I was spelling it correctly.

this isn’t the first time it’s happened to me, and I know I’m not the first person to bring it up, but what is up with that? that moment a word you are perfectly comfortable with just becomes… weird. (there’s even a very unsuccessful facebook page dedicated to just this… https://www.facebook.com/pages/saying-a-word-over-and-over-again-and-realizing-it-sounds-weird/359191459961?sk=info )

I remember the very first time it happened to me, I was watching an old school series on TV called, Loving.

And this character called ‘Trisha’ was having issues with this male character called, ‘Clay’. I, who knows why, repeated the name ‘clay’ over and over and then it happened, it stopped making sense to me. I was baffled. I remember asking my mother what was happening.

was I regressing? was I sick? I was a very worried 9-year-old.

If you’ve never had it happen to you, try it. i don’t know why you would want to but now’s your chance

please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please

wow hey, this is some piece of literary genius right here.

I should write a book

book book book book book book book book book book book book book book book book book book book book book book book book book book book book book book book book book book book book book book book book book book book book book book book book book book book book book book book book

Sorry, I couldn’t help myself.

 

 

One comment on “how weird is the word ‘please’.

Leave a Reply

