Bohemian Rhapsody South African Version…

Freddie Mercury died, today, 20 years ago. Flipshizzle hey, time really does go faaaast.

On the anniversary of his death, I thought I’d share with you a parody song my friend Gen Akal and I wrote for a show we did in 2007.

After an armed robbery in Jozi we were jaded, to say the least. Do we leave our beautiful country? Do we leave a government that doesn’t care about us? Do we leave a land we call home because 6 men tied us up, took everything we owned, and held guns to our heads?

Oooorrrrrr….. Do we write a 2 woman comedy show?

We chose option b.

So here it is, our version of Bohemian Rhapsody… South African style.

(to set the scene, at this point in the show were are in a car at the robot and a beggar comes to our window…)

Cue music…

Mama, I don’t have R2,

You’ve got a pavement not a bed,

See your baby’s underfed.

Mama, ‘Simunye – we are one’,

But my passport’s been approved for the UK.

Mama, ooooooooh

Please don’t fake a cry,

but if I’m back again this time tomorrow

I’ll bring you shoes, or you want booze?

Coz nothing really matters

Too late, my time has come.

The big meeting is at 9,

Got my passport on the line.

Good bye everybody, I’ve got to go

Gotta leave you all behind to face the truth

Mama ooooooooh

I don’t wanna die

But the god damn cops just will not hear my call…

I see a little silhouetto of our land,

How they pushed, how they pushed,

Finally we can fly mango.

Thunder bolts and lightening

SA’s very frightening…

Jacob zuma, you’re a tumour

It’s a rumour, you’re in puma

It’s a show, think we don’t know?

I’m just a rich girl, from a rich family,

She’s just a rich gir,l from a rich family

Spare her her life she’s in therapy…

Easy come, easy go, will you let me go
please Durban! No, we will not let you go (Let her go!)

please zuma! We will not let you go (Let her go!)

please SA! We will not let you go (Let me go)

Will not let you go (Let me go)

(Never) Never let you go
(Let me go) Never let you go (Let me go) Ah
No, no, no, no, no, no, no
Oh Jacob zuma , jacob zuma, jacob zuma let me go
this crazy land has a devil put aside for me, for me,
for meeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

Won’t fight back, so you smack

I just sit and act coy.

Would my life be much better,

If I could toi-toi?

Aaaaustralia, let us in we won’t fault ya,

Just gotta get out, just gotta get right outta
here!

Sizonikhumbula

Ons sal jou mis en,

We’ll blow a vuvuzela

If you could be ‘honest’ now and then.

(This is why we write shows….)

for the original Queen lyrics: http://www.elyrics.net/read/q/queen-lyrics/bohemian-rhapsody-lyrics.html

for the Queen music video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=irp8CNj9qBI

follow Gen Akal on twitter here: https://twitter.com/#!/GenAkal

follow our director Libby Allen here: https://twitter.com/#!/libbysighs

2 comments on “Bohemian Rhapsody South African Version…

  1. I hope you guys make a video clip and post it to youtube! This is seriously k@k funny 🙂 LOVE IT!!!

Leave a Reply

