INTRODUCING ‘SPARKLES’.

Earlier this year I decided it was time for me to get myself a REAL car, you know, one with power steering, air con, power-steering… a ‘big girl’s’car. I took to social network ‘twitter’ to ask my online friends what they suggested I buy. In fact, what I said was, “Can anyone suggest a car for me, I’m looking for a demo/2nd hand, anything BUT a Chevy Spark.
It wasn’t long before I’d received a message from Chevrolet South Africa and Reeds offering me a test drive in their ‘hot new Spark’. They would make it their mission to change my mind… and fast.
Well, we all know what they say about ‘car salesman’. I was skeptical to say the least. Whether the team at Reeds are genuinely the nicest group of people, or just flipping good salesman… I’ll never know. But I can tell you this, I was made to feel like royalty. From the very beginning the entire team was so helpful and ready to answer all my questions, and were literally at my beck and call. When my old car broke down, Mike and his team went out of their way to help me and even assessed the problem for me. The whole process was made so incredibly pleasant that when the keys were handed over, I felt rather sad.

So let me tell you a little about my ice teal Spark LS. Her name is Sparkles. I recently celebrated her 21,000km mark by taking her to see the whales in Kalk Bay. As I said earlier, I had never had a ‘big girl’s’car – and at first, I thought this might be seen very much as a  ‘ladies’ car… oh no, I have to hide the keys from my fiance who is more than keen to take her out as often as possible.
For a 1.2, the Spark is absolutely everything I need when it comes to power. She handles BEAUTIFULLY in both city and freeway driving. The steering is unbelievable and I have done more parallel parking in last few months than I have in the 10 years I’ve had my license. 
I really don’t know much about car terminology, like torque, cylinders or even tyre pressure but I can tell you that aesthetically, this car is so my vibe. The interior is so funky and futuristic, everyone comments on the ‘bike like’ odometer display and the great turquoise colour that lights up at night. The air con is very powerful, great for Cape Town summer as I recently found out,  and the sound system really has everything you need, usb, cd, aux in and good all round sound. And my favourite party trick is to tell my friends to get in the back seat and watch them figure out that this gorgeous little thing is a 5 door. Haha

Leave a Reply

